On April 27, 2017, the Community Builders Network (CBN) held its fifth annual awards reception at Washington University’s beautiful Clark-Fox Forum. As part of the ceremony, Rise announced its 2017 Collaborative Grant awardees. It was an evening of strong community support, some strong emotions, and a strong turnout, with over 200 people in attendance!

The CBN Awards Reception winners are:

Rosie Willis, JeffVanderLou Neighborhood Resident-Excellence in the Faith-Based Community

Missouri Foundation for Health-Excellence in Philanthropy

 Alana Green, City of St. Louis Community Development Administration-Excellence in the Public Sector

Michele Duffe, ND Consulting Group-Excellence in the Business Sector

Revitalization 2000-Excellence in the Faith-Based Community

Justine PETERSEN– Excellence in Lending

Lemay Housing Partnership-Excellence in Community Building

Kathy Sorkin, Rosemann & Associates-Outstanding Achievement in Community Building

This year CBN featured keynote speaker Anna Alvarez Boyd, Senior Associate Director at the Division of Consumer and Community Affairs at the Federal Reserve Board of Governors.

Once again, Rise’s Collaborative Grant awardees were announced as part of the ceremony. The 2017 awardees are:

DeSales Community Development—to assist the South Jefferson Collaborative with their continuing “Healthy Communities” initiative.

Northside Community Housing, Inc.—to make education a shared agenda for the residents and stakeholders of the Ville and develop project-based learning opportunities for youth.

Tower Grove Neighborhoods CDC— to support its continuing nuisance and vacant property abatement activities and to prepare a vacancy and nuisance property abatement manual in collaboration with Saint Louis University School of Law.

We would like to send special thanks to the supporters of the Collaborative: Central Bank of St. Louis, Commerce Bancshares Foundation, Commerce Bank, First Bank, the PNC Foundation, and TIAA-Direct.

Congratulations to all of the CBN awards winners, to the Collaborative grantee, and to CBN for hosting a wonderful event!